Who can apply?

Bright, young girls with a record of academic excellence, confident of getting admission in India’s best science colleges, can apply as soon as they complete their Class XII examinations.

Only students who opt to study pure/natural science courses for their graduation are eligible for this scholarship.

Preference will be given to students with rural backgrounds, economically weak backgrounds and  interest in scientific research.

IMPORTANT: The scholarship will be given only to students who have confirmed admissions to any of the colleges listed.

Application Process


Fill application and submit documents (1st May 2022 onwards)

Select institution/s

Submit admission offer from anyone institution (by 30th Nov 2022)

Wait for selection confirmation email

Scholarship Registrations will begin on 1st May 2022.

The last date for application submission with admission offer will be 30th Nov 2022, by which time all the listed colleges will have announced their final list of admissions. You need to have a confirmed admission offer in any one of the colleges. Admission slips will need to be submitted.

Documents Required

X Std. Certificate Mandatory
X Std. Mark sheets Optional
XII Std./ 10+2 Mark sheets Mandatory
XII Std./ 10+2 Certificate Optional
Income Certificate Mandatory for household income less than Rs 5 lakhs
Disability Certificate Mandatory for PwD Candidates

Applicable Institutions

Bangalore Department of Science, Christ (Deemed to be University)
Mount Carmel College
St Joseph's College
Chennai Madras Christian College
Stella Maris College
Presidency College
Loyola College
Delhi Miranda House
Hindu College
St. Stephen's College
Sri Venkateswara College
Hansraj College
Gargi College
Hyderabad St. Francis Degree College for Women
Loyola Academy
Kolkata St. Xavier`s College
Loreto College
Mumbai Mithibai College
Sophia College for Women
Others IISERs


Mentor Name Designation Department University
Dr Rita John Professor and Head Department of Theoretical Physics University of Madras
Dr. H.S. Savithri  Professor Department of Biochemistry Indian Institute of Science Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru 560012
Dr. Gaiti Hasan   Laboratory of intracellular calcium signaling, NCBS-TIFR National Centre for Biological Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research Bellary Road, Bangalore 560065, Karnataka, India
Dr. Vidita Vaidya Professor Department of Biological Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research 1, Homi Bhabha Road, Colaba, Mumbai 400005, India
Dr. Purnima Bhargava Emiritus Scientist CCMB, CSIR Room : W312
Dr. Rama Govindarajan Professor International Centre for Theoretical Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research Shivakote, Bengaluru 560089, India
Dr. Sudha Bhattacharya JC Bose National Fellow, UGC-BSR Fellow, Professor (retired) School of Environmental Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University  New Delhi 110067, India
Dr. Madhu Dikshit Professor, Biochemistry/ Chemistry IIT Jodhpur NH 65 Nagaur Road Karwar 342 037 Jodhpur District 
Dr. Swagata Dasgupta Professor, Department of Chemistry, Associate Dean (Continuing Education) IIT Kharagpur IIT Kharagpur 721302. INDIA
Dr. R.Madhubala Distinguished Scientist Chair, ICMR JC Bose National Fellow School of Life Sciences Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi -110067, Affiliate Professor, Centre for Infectious Disease Research, Seattle, USA
Dr. Rohini Godbole Vice President, National Academy of Sciences, India, Chair, WiS panel of the Indian National Science Academy. Centre for High Energy Physics Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore 560012, India
Dr. Saman Habib Scientist Division of Molecular & Structural Biology CSIR-Central Drug Research Institute Sector 10, Jankipuram Extension, Sitapur Road, Lucknow-226021, India
Dr. Nita Bhandari President and Director  Centre for Health Research and Development, Society for Applied Studies Centre for Health Research and Development, Society for Applied Studies, 45, Kalu Sarai, New Delhi -110016
Dr. Rita John Professor and Head Department of Theoretical Physics, University of Madras University of Madras, Chennai
Dr. Deepa Agashe Assistant Professor (Reader F), Wellcome Trust/DBT India Alliance Fellow National Centre for Biological Sciences (NCBS) GKVK Campus, Bellary Road, Bangalore, India 560065
Prof. Annapurni Subramaniam Professor Indian Institute of Astrophysics Bangalore – 560034
Priya Mahadevan Senior Professor S.N.Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences JD Block, Sector 3, Salt Lake, Kolkata